Say hi to your Board

At the Annual General Meeting of Technorama Incorporated held on 26 September 2018, the committee for 2018/2019 was announced.   We transitioned from the old rules (everybody elected each year) to new rules (staggered election and overlapping terms) and each year since we’ve had one-time challenges to resolve.  But, fortunately, each time the rules have delivered a solution.

A bit of explanation.  Under the constitution adopted in May 2018, the Technorama committee moved from seven people elected annually to nine people elected on a two-year cycle with four people retiring in even years and five people retiring in odd years.  Did you follow that?  In addition, moving to nine people meant that two additional Committee members were appointed to hold the roles until the AGM.  That gave us three committee members serving as casual appointments, and those three were required to stand down at the 2018 election to meet the requirement of Rule 18(1).  The President and Secretary are required to be elected in an even year, and the Secretary position became vacant as a result of splitting the role of Secretary/Treasurer.  If you’re still following this, you’ll now see that the committee realigned into the needed 4/5 split by a combination of rules and mutual agreement and without the need to draw lots (rule 15(5)).

Interestingly, because the 2019 AGM launched with some casual vacancies, a combining two exec positions (Treasurer and Secretary), and was followed by a board member resignation, we had the situation where there was no clarity as to who had been elected to a one-year and two-year terms.  Again, the rules worked and in August 2020 we had a drawing of lots to establish who was due to stand down for the 2020 AGM.

Our AGM:  Each year the AGM must be held some time between the end of financial year (June 30) and the end of the calendar year. Nominations for the four  positions to be elected this year closed on 20 September.  Because the the number of nominations received exactly matched the number of positions, no election needed to be held.  At the AGM the returning officer declared all the nominees to be elected.

Details on all the committee members can be found on the Meet Your Board page here.